DCCX 2011 Race Report: A Difference of a Year

24 Oct

Amazing the difference in perspective from one year to the next.  Bottom line up front: same place as last year — 9th in the 3/4.

Last year, I was pretty ecstatic.  This year, I wanted better.  That said, I’m pleased.  I went into the race fighting off some sniffles, courtesy of my daughter, and still had it for a solid placing.

Thanks to 2nd at Hyattsville, I had a front-row start, and jumped out to take the holeshot for the first time ever.  Diced back and forth with Kyle from The Bike Lane/November/um, what team do you ride for, exactly? for the rest of the first half, lap, and unfortunately faded too much to jump up and grab the first-lap prime.

From there it was just a slow ebb of power.  I had one speed, whether I was trying to jump out of a corner or motor along on the flat, so I would close gaps on the technical sections and then see them open up again as soon as the course straightened out.  The DCCX course was still soft from a drenching on Wednesday, and the long power climbs were like riding through bubble gum.

Like I said, perspective.  An off day this year equals one of my best days on the bike last year.

There’s more to come later this season.

3 Responses to “DCCX 2011 Race Report: A Difference of a Year”

  1. mh October 25, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Nice F’n work out there! The course was not all that fast (spot on about the bublegum soil conditions). The competition however was large and in charge…there were some guys that brought their A game! Thats a top ten in one of the larger faster andfaster groups that day..son! And you were fighting a cold and the competion…proud.

    • learninghowtosuffer October 25, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      Thanks! I’m not as bummed as I might seem. More hungry, rather. You raced SS, right? How’d that go?

      • mh October 25, 2011 at 10:59 am #

        typical mid-pack day for me…first time setting my cross up as a single and under gunned gearing wise..live and learn.

Leave a Reply

